K-Country Great Gray

Image

Great Gray

A pretty successful afternoon in Kananaskis today – what started out as a quick trip in the Jeep just for a drive resulted in some great owl viewing. We spotted two of these guys within a couple of miles of each other, and both of them were unbelievably cooperative for me. Both ended up making the classic “Great Gray pounce”, and of the two, I was in position and set up to actually capture one of them. Unfortunately his target was 100% hidden and obscured behind a large poplar. So, as he landed on his prey, I ended up with a great, sharp and in focus image of a tree trunk…

Regardless, I did get some great images of the two of them, but this is one of my favorites, of one of my favorite birds. I know where I’ll be headed next time out when I’m looking for owls…

The kids had a great day as well – we hit a couple of new roads, at least for them and Andrea, that everyone agreed were “Jeep-worthy”, meaning we bounced them around in the back seat pretty well! Fun few hours – We’ll see what tomorrow brings…

~ by Kerry Statham on June 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
